Log in
Log in

In memory of Janel Parker, MSN, RN, CNN Past President, ABNS

Janel Parker, ABNS President from 1991 - 1993, specialized in nephrology nursing for more than 20 years and was a nationally recognized leader, author and speaker. Early in her career she recognized the value of specialty nursing certification and was a cofounder of the Nephrology Nursing Certification Commission. As an early advocate for nursing certification, she worked tirelessly to create an ABNS structure that promotes nursing certification as a means to recognize quality nursing care. Her commitment to ABNS, as evidenced by the numerous volunteer roles she held, continues to be an inspiration to its members. Janel is remembered for her energy, vision, and passion for specialty nursing certification!


The Janel Parker Presidents Award recognizes an individual or organization within the ABNS membership that has made significant contributions to specialty nursing certification and to the association.


The Janel Parker Presidents Award recognizes individual representatives of ABNS member organizations or the organizations themselves. All nominees must be active members of ABNS as demonstrated by ongoing involvement in and contribution to ABNS activities. Individual members of the Board of Directors are not eligible for the award, however the organizations they represent are. The ABNS Awards and Recognition Committee, and their organizations, are not eligible for the award. Nominees will exemplify the ABNS vision and mission as advocates for specialty nursing certification. All nominees are pioneers whose work will continue to affirm ABNS and its value to the health care community.


A nominee’s support of specialty nursing certification will be evaluated according to the following broadly defined criteria:

  • Active participation in ABNS, with demonstrated involvement in activities that advance the visibility, mission and vision of ABNS;
  • Activities significantly contribute to the promotion, visibility and value of ABNS;
  • Activities promote the accreditation function of ABNS;
  • Accomplishments that promote the value of specialty nursing certification to individuals, healthcare organizations; and/or the public that have led to increased numbers of certified nurses;
  • Outstanding activities as related to nursing certification which influence the process, standards, and legal mandates relevant to specialty nursing certification.

    Past Recipients

    Past recipients of the ABNS Janel Parker President’s award include:


    Robin L. Bissinger, PhD, APRN, NNP-BC, FAAN, CEO National Certification Corporation (NCC)


    Dottie Roberts, MSN, MACI, RN, OCNS-C, CMSRN, CNE; Retiring Executive Director, ONCB


    The National Board of Certification and Recertification for Nurse Anesthetists (NBCRNA) for their understanding of certification and testing standards.

    From to left to right: John Preston, NBCRNA; Kathryn Berry, NBCRNA; Pamela Chambers, NBCRNA; Janie Schumaker, ABNS

    click to enlarge


    The Competency and Credentialing Institute (CCI) for its dedication to and leadership in advancing research in the specialty nursing certification field.


    National Certification Corporation for the Obstetric, Gynecologic and Neonatal Nursing Specialties (NCC) for their work in executing the “Certified Nurses are Everywhere” campaign, a public education program focused on communicating the value of specialty certification for nurses to the public.


    The Board of Certification for Emergency Room Nursing (BCEN) for their work with the State Boards of Nursing to recognize nursing certification as a proxy for re-licensure.

    ABNS – American Board of Nursing Specialties

    Regarding Verification of Credentials
    ABNS does not verify certification credentials of individual certified nurses. To verify a credential, contact the certifying agency that granted the credential. ABNS does not administer certification programs.

    This website contains information specific to specialty nursing certification and is not intended or designed to give medical or nursing advice.

    Contact Us


    Copyright 2020. All Rights Reserved.

    Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software